The Thin Line Between Love And Hate

They say there is a thin line between love and hate.  I guess what they mean is that both emotions are extremely Thin Line Between Love and Hatepowerful and extremely passionate.  You can passionately love someone and you can passionately hate someone.   By definition passionate means:  capable of  having, or dominated by powerful emotions; showing or expressing strong emotion; ardent; etc.  By that definition, I could say that I have a passionate, love/hate relationship with my husband.

That was the case this weekend.  How someone you love so much can bring out the strongest of “hatred” emotions is beyond me, and honestly kind of scary.  I truly love my husband.  He is a caring man, a great father, a hard worker, an honest person, a very intelligent human being, and a humorous guy who can bring me to laugh with his wit (these are just some of his attributes).  This same wonderful man I describe can also be the most stubborn, contrary, have-to-be-right man that evokes such a “rise” out of me that I say the meanest things just to retaliate against his snide comments and over-confident demeanor.  I must preface this by saying that I’m not above being aware of my own short-comings.  I know I am not easy to live with.  I do get irrational at times (most women are known to – but hey, we think with our emotions, whereas men think with….well, let’s just stop there).  Anyway, I am strong-willed and yes at times…bitchy, especially when I know what I want.

This weekend things just snow-balled, and I willingly admit that it started with me.  We were rushing to get out the door and my husband put something in the diaper bag that I didn’t want in there, when he was only trying to help (this is a time I expected him to read my mind) and I irrationally (yes, I admit it) flew off the handle.  Now I realize my behavior was totally ridiculous and my husband had every right to say something to me but for some reason it just kept escalating and finally I said, “I hate you”.  And honestly at that moment I felt that way.  How is it possible that you can have such deep loving feelings for the father of your children and turn around a few hours later ready to pounce on him like a rabid animal attacking its prey?

I’m not proud of this rush of emotions I had.  In fact I am embarrased that I, a mother, who tries to teach her children to control themselves and not hit or say mean things when they are angry acted like a child herself — a spoiled one at that.  The only way I can describe it best is that it’s like a tea kettle and the hotter it gets the more it’s going to blow.  And let me tell you, that whistle could have awakened the dead.

I certainly have to say that there truly is a thin line between love and hate.  What makes us cross the line?  I imagine it’s the intensity of the feelings.  Love/hate are both intense feelings that arouse a deep emotion that at times act the same passionate way, except….one is good for a relationship and the other one is not.  I’m hoping, as I’m sure my husband is, that the passion in our relationship doesn’t send either one of us to the hospital. 😉

4 Comments

Filed under Relationship

4 responses to “The Thin Line Between Love And Hate

  1. countrybumpkin70

    The more I read your blog the more I think you are my wife, using a pseudonym, writing thinly veiled stories of our lives. Your blog gives me some insight from a woman’s prospective as to why my wife does what she does sometimes.
    It’s nice to know that my wife and I are not the only couple who question their sanity. I enjoy reading your blog and your husband’s.
    -Ben

  2. I know exactly what you mean!

  3. Went and checked out your hubby’s site. I really enjoyed it. Hope you don’t mind but I’ve linked your two sites on my page for people to check out. It’s refreshing to see posts from both perspectives. If only I could my hubby to blog. 🙂

  4. Tammy

    I know what you mean. We began these blogs to help voice both sides before we drive each other crazy! It seems so many couples have the same debates. Thank you so much for visiting.

Leave a Reply

